Username:    Password:    Remember me      : Forgot password?
Forums
Padfone Club :: Forums :: Padfone 2 Forums :: Padfone 2 General
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Padfone 2 - got Wi-Fi 5GHz working? (Issue and workaround found)
Moderators: Marc Schattorie, ctys2ard, oroo708, JHS_NL, RaithK, allram
Author Post
schriss
Fri Nov 02 2012, 01:19PM
Registered Member #430
Joined: Wed Oct 31 2012, 08:38AM
Location: Dublin
Posts: 124
Thanked 30 time in 26 post
I'm struggling to get my Padfone 2 to connect to my 5GHz network, I've tried changing channels and settings on my router and no luck. My HTC One X does connect to the same 5GHz network without problem.
Anybody else having similar problem?

EDIT: Found the problem: Padfone 2 does not see 5GHz channels: 36, 40, 44, 48. Configure router to use any other 5GHz channel and then it's working.

[ Edited Wed Nov 07 2012, 09:49PM ]
Back to top
Angelusz
Fri Nov 02 2012, 03:14PM
Registered Member #28
Joined: Tue Jul 10 2012, 08:23AM
Location: Nederland
Posts: 180
Thanked 24 time in 17 post
Yes, my padfone cannot 'see' my 5Ghz network. I've tried changing a few settings on the access point, but couldn't be arsed to keep tinkering too long, so gave up. I'm now connected to the plain old 2.4Ghz.
Back to top
1 User said Thanks to Angelusz for this post :
 schriss (02 Nov : 15:17)
schriss
Fri Nov 02 2012, 03:18PM
Registered Member #430
Joined: Wed Oct 31 2012, 08:38AM
Location: Dublin
Posts: 124
Thanked 30 time in 26 post
Me too, I guess it needs a fix.
But SpeedTest on 2.4GHz came out very impressive! So it's not that bad.
Back to top
schriss
Sun Nov 04 2012, 07:34PM
Registered Member #430
Joined: Wed Oct 31 2012, 08:38AM
Location: Dublin
Posts: 124
Thanked 30 time in 26 post
there is an INI config file under /Etc/Firmware/Wlan
if we had Root and could modify, we could potentially get 5GHz to work, I see many 5GHz related options:

# This file allows user to override the factory
# defaults for the WLAN Driver

# Enable IMPS or not
gEnableImps=1

# Enable/Disable Idle Scan
gEnableIdleScan=0

# Increase sleep duration (seconds) during IMPS
# 0 implies no periodic wake up from IMPS. Periodic wakeup is
# unnecessary if Idle Scan is disabled.
gImpsModSleepTime=0

# Enable BMPS or not
gEnableBmps=1

# Enable suspend or not
# 1: Enable standby, 2: Enable Deep sleep, 3: Enable Mcast/Bcast Filter
gEnableSuspend=3

# Phy Mode (auto, b, g, n, etc)
gDot11Mode=0

# Handoff Enable(1) Disable(0)
gEnableHandoff=0

# CSR Roaming Enable(1) Disable(0)
gRoamingTime=0

# Assigned MAC Addresses - This will be used until NV items are in place
# Each byte of MAC address is represented in Hex format as XX
Intf0MacAddress=000AF58989FF
Intf1MacAddress=000AF58989FE
Intf2MacAddress=000AF58989FD
Intf3MacAddress=000AF58989FC

# UAPSD service interval for VO,VI, BE, BK traffic
InfraUapsdVoSrvIntv=0
InfraUapsdViSrvIntv=0
InfraUapsdBeSrvIntv=0
InfraUapsdBkSrvIntv=0

# Disable RSSI FW filtering
gEnableFWRssiMonitoring=0

# Make 1x1 the default antenna configuration
gNumRxAnt=1

# Beacon filtering frequency (unit in beacon intervals)
gNthBeaconFilter=50

# Enable WAPI or not
# WAPIIsEnabled=0

# Flags to filter Mcast abd Bcast RX packets.
# Value 0: No filtering, 1: Filter all Multicast.
# 2: Filter all Broadcast. 3: Filter all Mcast abd Bcast
McastBcastFilter=3

#Flag to enable HostARPOffload feature or not
hostArpOffload=0

#SoftAP Related Parameters
# AP MAc addr
gAPMacAddr=000AF58989EF

# 802.11n Protection flag
gEnableApProt=1

#Enable OBSS protection
gEnableApOBSSProt=0

#Enable/Disable UAPSD for SoftAP
gEnableApUapsd=1

# Fixed Rate
gFixedRate=0

# Maximum Tx power
# gTxPowerCap=30

# Fragmentation Threshold
# gFragmentationThreshold=2346

# RTS threshold
RTSThreshold=2347

# Intra-BSS forward
gDisableIntraBssFwd=0

# WMM Enable/Disable
WmmIsEnabled=0

# 802.11d support
g11dSupportEnabled=0

# CCX Support and fast transition
CcxEnabled=0
FastTransitionEnabled=0
ImplicitQosIsEnabled=1
gNeighborScanTimerPeriod=200

gNeighborLookupThreshold=50
gNeighborReassocThreshold=55

gNeighborScanChannelList=1,11,36,64
gNeighborScanChannelMinTime=20
gNeighborScanChannelMaxTime=30
gMaxNeighborReqTries=3

# SAP Country code
# Default Country Code is 2 bytes, 3rd byte is optional indoor or out door.
# Example
# US Indoor, USI
# Korea Outdoor, KRO
# Japan without optional byte, JP
# France without optional byte, FR
#gAPCntryCode=USI

#Short Guard Interval Enable/disable
gShortGI20Mhz=1
gShortGI40Mhz=1

#Auto Shutdown Value in seconds. A value of 0 means Auto shutoff is disabled
gAPAutoShutOff=0

# SAP auto channel selection configuration
# 0 = disable auto channel selection
# 1 = enable auto channel selection, channel provided by supplicant will be ignored
gApAutoChannelSelection=0

# Listen Energy Detect Mode Configuration
# Valid values 0-128
# 128 means disable Energy Detect feature
# 0-9 are threshold code and 7 is recommended value from system if feature is to be enabled.
# 10-128 are reserved.
# The EDET threshold mapping is as follows in 3dB step:
# 0 = -60 dBm
# 1 = -63 dBm
# 2 = -66 dBm
# ...
# 7 = -81 dBm
# 8 = -84 dBm
# 9 = -87 dBm
# Note: Any of these settings are valid. Setting 0 would yield the highest power saving (in a noisy environment) at the cost of more range. The range impact is approximately #calculated as:
#
# Range Loss (dB) = EDET threshold level (dBm) + 97 dBm.
#
gEnablePhyAgcListenMode=128

#Preferred channel to start BT AMP AP mode (0 means, any channel)
BtAmpPreferredChannel=0

#Preferred band (both or 2.4 only or 5 only)
BandCapability=0

#Beacon Early Termination (1 = enable the BET feature, 0 = disable)
enableBeaconEarlyTermination=1
beaconEarlyTerminationWakeInterval=10

#Bluetooth Alternate Mac Phy (1 = enable the BT AMP feature, 0 = disable)
gEnableBtAmp=0

#SOFTAP Channel Range selection
gAPChannelSelectStartChannel=1
gAPChannelSelectEndChannel=11

#SOFTAP Channel Range selection Operating band
# 0:2.4GHZ 1: LOW-5GHZ 2:MID-5GHZ 3:HIGH-5GHZ 4: 4.9HZ BAND
gAPChannelSelectOperatingBand=0

#Enable Keep alive with non-zero period value
gStaKeepAlivePeriod=30

#If set will start with active scan after driver load, otherwise will start with
#passive scan to find out the domain
gEnableBypass11d=1

#If set to 0, will not scan DFS channels
gEnableDFSChnlScan=1

# Enable logp/SSR
gEnableLogp=1

# Enable Automatic Tx Power control
gEnableAutomaticTxPowerControl=1

gEnableCloseLoop=1
gDataInactivityTimeout=200

# Enable Dynamic DTIM
gEnableDynamicDTIM=3

# Enable 5GHz HT40
gChannelBondingMode5GHz=1

END
# Note: Configuration parser would not read anything past the END marker
Back to top
SparkyRih
Sun Nov 04 2012, 07:53PM
Registered Member #2
Joined: Sun Jun 17 2012, 12:09PM
Location: Roermond
Posts: 1383
Thanked 180 time in 151 post
You probably need root to modify that file?
Back to top
schriss
Sun Nov 04 2012, 08:05PM
Registered Member #430
Joined: Wed Oct 31 2012, 08:38AM
Location: Dublin
Posts: 124
Thanked 30 time in 26 post
Yes.
That section seems particularly interesting:
#SOFTAP Channel Range selection Operating band
# 0:2.4GHZ 1: LOW-5GHZ 2:MID-5GHZ 3:HIGH-5GHZ 4: 4.9HZ BAND
gAPChannelSelectOperatingBand=0

also there is the dangerous Maximum TX Power

and why this disabled...
# WMM Enable/Disable
WmmIsEnabled=0
Surely it's needed enabled for N, maybe it's just defaults INI, with real values in use stored elsewhere.
Back to top
schriss
Wed Nov 07 2012, 07:19PM
Registered Member #430
Joined: Wed Oct 31 2012, 08:38AM
Location: Dublin
Posts: 124
Thanked 30 time in 26 post
Found the problem: Padfone 2 does not see 5GHz channels: 36, 40, 44, 48. Configure router to use any other 5GHz channel and then it's working.



[ Edited Thu Nov 08 2012, 02:25PM ]
Back to top
2 User said Thanks to schriss for this post :
 Gandalf (07 Nov : 20:22) , Swordhun (07 Nov : 20:42)
JoAusSHG
Fri Jan 10 2014, 01:32PM
Registered Member #2426
Joined: Fri Jan 10 2014, 01:24PM
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 time in 0 post
schriss wrote ...

I'm struggling to get my Padfone 2 to connect to my 5GHz network, I've tried changing channels and settings on my router and no luck. My HTC One X does connect to the same 5GHz network without problem.
Anybody else having similar problem?

EDIT: Found the problem: Padfone 2 does not see 5GHz channels: 36, 40, 44, 48. Configure router to use any other 5GHz channel and then it's working.


Thank You. I tried to connect my Padfone 2 (the Version without LTE/ NFC) to my notebook. Only to check if WLAN a is working. My Notebook supports only 4 channels.





Can I configure a PF2 hotspot within 5 GHz band?



[ Edited Fri Jan 10 2014, 01:35PM ]
Back to top
 

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System
Padfone Club Newsletter


Recent Articles
General
How To
How to Reset/Wipe your Padfone (1, 2 or Infinity)

Reviews
First generation Padfone vs Padfone Infinity (Coming soon!)
Review of RAVPower RP-PB07 Battery Pack

New Padfone Infinity
How To
How to root the New Padfone Infinity

Padfone Infinity
How To
How to root the Padfone Infinity
Padfone Infinity Firmwares (Files and How to install)

Applications
Asus Echo
Asus Menu & Shortcuts
Asus Camera

Reviews
Detailed Padfone Infinity Review

Padfone 2
How To
How to root the Padfone 2
Padfone 2 Firmwares (Files and How to install)

Reviews
Norêve case for the Padfone 2 (Review by allram)
Norêve case for the Padfone 2 (Review by JHS_NL)

Padfone
How To
How to root the Padfone
Automate actions on docking and undocking
Padfone Firmwares (Files and How to install)

Applications
Garmin for Padfone - Loading Maps
Padfone App Guide
Dynamic Display Switching

Reviews
Detailed Padfone owner review
Connecting Padfone to a TV
Screen protectors for Padfone

2012-2013 Copyright © Padfone Club, All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Use - Disclaimer - Contact Us - Advertise - Our Team - Sitemap - Asus

Padfone Club is part of Schattorie Solutions